Support Our Work

As a nonprofit organization, ELC relies on the generous contributions of individuals, corporations and foundations to support our work.

donate now

Join Our Network





Annual Awards Reception


Each spring, ELC hosts an awards ceremony and reception to honor individuals and organizations for their commitment to public education. The reception is also an important fundraising event; contributions and proceeds from ticket sales help maintain ELC as a champion of educational equity. This year, ELC’s annual fundraiser will be held on Thursday, May 28, in New Brunswick.

Each year, ELC’s fundraiser is preceded by the Education Justice Lecture. This year, New York State Senator Robert Jackson, and Billy Easton, former Executive Director of the Alliance for Quality Education, will present on progressive education reform in New York. The lecture will take place at the Rutgers Bloustein School of Planning and Public Policy in New Brunswick at 4 PM.

Following the lecture, which includes a Q&A session, ELC will host a reception and awards ceremony across the street from the Bloustein School at the Heldrich Hotel in New Brunswick. The reception, which runs from 6 to 8 PM, will feature a variety of food and wine.

Tickets for the event are available for purchase here.

Two awards are presented at the reception: the Morheuser Humanitarian Award and the Education Justice Award.

The Morheuser Humanitarian Award honors dedication to the advancement of the educational rights of students in New Jersey’s public schools and is presented in memory of the late Marilyn Morheuser, ELC’s long-time Executive Director and advocate for education justice. 

The Education Justice Award honors outstanding service and commitment to advancing equal educational opportunity for public school children across the U.S. This year, ELC will honor Senator Robert Jackson and Billy Easton. 

Previous winners of the Education Justice Award include Dr. Jeannie Oakes, Distinguished Scholar and Educator; Dr. Michelle Fine, Distinguished Professor from the City University of New York; The Ford Foundation; The Schott Foundation; Lily Eskelsen Garcia, President of the National Education Association; Marian Wright Edelman, founder and president of the Children’s Defense Fund; Dr. Pedro Noguera; Wade Henderson, President of the Leadership Conference for Human and Civil Rights; Diane Ravitch, noted educator and New York University Professor; Benjamin Todd Jealous, former President and Chief Executive Officer of the NAACP; and Kurt Landgraf of the Educational Testing Service.

For more information about the event, please contact Nicole Ciullo, Fundraising & Event Coordinator, at 973-624-1815, Ext. 12, or